X

Maintenance

Why is maintenance a key operation?

When operating your farm machinery, its components are subjected to friction and mechanical wear that damage them, potentially causing malfunctions or breakage. What’s more, internal fluid circulation of fuel, cooling liquid, air flow and/or oil for example can lead to the build-up of impurities which must be captured to prevent contaminating the rest of the circuit. Maintenance operations include troubleshooting, repairs, adjustments, revisions and inspections concerning your machine parts. Therefore, routine Maintenance on your farm machinery is vital to ensure a long service life.

It is best to carry out your Routine Maintenance operations during the off season, when you can take the time to access internal parts without losing precious time in the field. Certain parts require replacements at set intervals. In agriculture, this is usually defined by a number of hours the machine has operated. Other parts require replacement following a visual inspection.

If your machine had a problem during the season, it will need Corrective Maintenance. You’ll need to replace the part quickly because your machine is immobilised. You can prevent this by performing thorough Routine Maintenance beforehand.

 

 

What are the types of parts in question?

FILTRATION

Filters are devices that remove impurities from a liquid or gas passed through it. There is a wide range of filter technologies that differ according the nature of the substance that flows through it, its placement, the brand, etc. It should be replaced before it is fully clogged, which prevents it from functioning.

 

 

BELTS AND CHAINS TRANSMISSION

These components transmit movement to power different machine parts.

Because of their continual movement, they wear quickly and can break. Therefore, we advise you to inspect them regularly during routine Maintenance.

 

 

BEARINGS AND ACCESSORIES

Bearings consist of a ring with a raceway, rolling elements (balls, rollers, needles, etc.) and a cage to hold the components together. It is a device to permit fixed direction motion between two parts, typically rotational, with the least amount of friction possible. If you notice any play between parts, they should be replaced to avoid breakage.

 

 

FIXING ELEMENTS

These components permit the assembly of different machine parts. They should be inspected regularly to prevent breakage resulting in unintentional disassembly.

 

 

Who are the leading manufacturers of Wear Parts?

There are many brands on the market for wear parts, and some of them are industry-specific specialists.

FILTRATION

BEARINGS

TRANSMISSION

X

Maintenance

Pourquoi la Maintenance est-elle une activité clé ?

Lors de l’utilisation de vos machines, les pièces qui les composent sont soumises à des frottements et à de l’usure mécanique qui les endommagent et peuvent provoquer un mauvais fonctionnement, voire une casse. De même, la circulation des fluides internes (carburant, liquide de refroidissement, flux d’air, huile …) entraîne des dépôts d’impuretés qu’il faut pouvoir capter pour ne pas polluer le reste du circuit. La Maintenance regroupe l’ensemble des activités de dépannage, réparation, réglage, révision, contrôle et vérification des pièces présentes sur une machine. Il est donc indispensable de réaliser une Maintenance régulière de ses machines pour s’assurer de leur fonctionnement à long terme.

Il est conseillé de réaliser une Maintenance préventive en dehors de la saison, lorsqu’il est possible d’accéder à des pièces internes sans pénaliser l’activité. Certaines pièces nécessitent d’être remplacées selon des intervalles définis (dans l’agriculture, on se base en général sur le nombre d’heures d’utilisation). D’autres nécessitent un remplacement après un contrôle visuel.

Si un incident arrive au cours de la saison, on parle alors de Maintenance curative. Un remplacement doit être fait en urgence car la machine est immobilisée. Ce risque peut être limité en pratiquant une Maintenance préventive approfondie en amont.

 

Quels sont les types de pièces concernées ?

FILTRATION

Un filtre a pour but de retenir les impuretés contenues dans un flux le traversant. Il existe de nombreuses technologies qui varient selon la nature du flux, l’emplacement du filtre, la marque… Son remplacement doit s’effectuer avant son encrassement complet, qui signifierait l’arrêt de son effet filtrant.

 

 

TRANSMISSION PAR CHAINES ET COURROIES

Ces éléments permettent de transmettre un mouvement entraînant différents organes de la machine.

En raison de leur mouvement permanent, l’usure est importante et peut engendrer une rupture. Il est donc conseillé d’inspecter régulièrement ces éléments lors de la Maintenance préventive.

 

 

PALIERS, ROULEMENTS ET ACCESSOIRES

Les roulements se composent d’une bague munie d’un chemin de roulement, d’éléments roulants (billes, rouleaux, aiguilles …) et d‘une cage les maintenant. Ils permettent la rotation d’un élément par rapport à un autre dans un axe de rotation défini, pour limiter les frottements. Leur remplacement doit se faire si un jeu est constaté avec l’axe, pour éviter une casse de l’élément.

 

 

ÉLÉMENTS DE FIXATION

Ces éléments permettent l’assemblage des différentes pièces de la machine les unes par rapport aux autres. Leur contrôle régulier permet d’éviter une casse qui désolidariserait ces pièces.

 

 

Quels sont les principaux équipementiers présents sur le marché des Pièces de Maintenance ?

Il existe de nombreux acteurs présents sur le marché des pièces de Maintenance, dont certains sont spécialistes dans un domaine.

FILTRATION

ROULEMENTS

TRANSMISSION